Shared Ownership

We believe everyone has the right to a safe and happy home and that a long term disability should not be a barrier to home ownership.  As a not-for-profit Housing Association we are proud to be the foremost provider of home ownership for people with long-term disabilities (HOLD). Buying a home through HOLD might be the right route for you to experience the pleasure and security of owning your own home.  As a support provider we an also offer you a range of support services, if needed, when you move into your new home.

We have been making home ownership possible for people with a disability for over twenty years and have helped around 1,000 people become Shared Owners. We celebrated with a report highlighting the difference it has made to peoples' lives. (see below).

We are proud of the difference our award winning scheme makes to peoples' lives. In 2018 we won two awards at the National Housing Awards. The judges highlighted HOLD as a 'phenomenal programme that empowers people with disabilities into home ownership'.

Please read the information on these pages - including the leaflet (below) and refer to the map (below) to check that we are able to help you in the part of the country you wish to buy in.

 In order to be eligible you or the person you are applying for needs to:

  • Be 18 yrs old or older (you can make an enquiry if you are within 6 months of turning 18 yrs old)
  • Have a long-term disability as classified under the Equality Act
  • Have access to funds to cover legal costs and a deposit

If you meet these criteria please do complete our online enquiry form and we can start the process. If you have any further questions, these might be covered in our FAQ section. If you would like to talk it through in more detail before applying or want to check it's the right option for you please do get in touch with us by email or call us on 0333 012 4307.

A list of counties where you can buy properties through our HOLD scheme is below:

  • BaNES (Bath and North East Somerset)
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol City
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cornwall
  • Coventry
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • Essex (certain areas)
  • Gloucestershire
  • Hampshire (not the Isle of Wight)
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Kent (certain areas)
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • North Somerset
  • Northamptonshire
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Surrey
  • Swindon
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire